The Ultimate Book Tag

Hey everyone! This is my first blog post and I thought the best way for everyone to get to know me a little would be to do the ultimate book tag, which has loads of questions to help you all figure out sort of who I am and what I like so much about books. Here we go!

  1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Not anymore. I used to when I was little but I grew out of it.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you?

I would have to say Erika Johansen’s. She uses very little dialogue which I really enjoy because her series Queen of the Tearling is one in which actions speak louder than words.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give three points to defend your answer.

 Harry Potter Series without a doubt. I find HP so much more relatible and well written, and the Twilight Saga is incredibly predictable, in my opinion. Oh yay, she ends up with the vampire! Who would have guessed it? 

4. Do you carry a bookbag? If so, what is in it?

Considering I am still in high school, I do indeed carry a book bag. Usually I have my school work and pencil pouch along with one or two books, depending on how I feel about my reading productivity that day and how far along I am into the first book.

5. Do you smell your books?

Absolutely! The smell of a freshly opened book is one of my favorite scents, and when paired with the little cracking sounds the spines make when opening for the first time I could die right then and there and be completely okay with it.

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

With illustrations for sure. I first saw this sort of thing in the Harry Potter Series and immediately fell in love with the idea. It gives a little more hint into the meanings of certain things throughout the book and I really enjoy it.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later that it wasn’t quality writing?

The Hunger Games Series. I actually really enjoyed Mockingjay in particular, and then went on and read some other things, returning to the series shortly before the movie came out. I skipped straight to Mockingjay because it had been my favorite, and I ended up really disappointed.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood?

In every class in elementary school, each of my teachers always had a little bookshelf that you could check out books from if you saw one that you wanted to read. I was really awful at remembering which books were mine and which were my teacher’s, and I was a military brat so my family moved around a lot. The combination of these two lead me to have at least one book from every single one of my elementary school teachers that I’ve accidentally stolen. Whoops?

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

Nil by Lynne Matson

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

It might be a tie between City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare or Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as an author?

I unfortunately am not gifted in the creative writing field at all, so I don’t necessarily see myself becoming an author.

12. When did you get into reading?

I’ve been reading books ever since I was a toddler. My mom would read me a chapter book at bedtime and we’d get through it in about a week or so, and I remember loving every second of it. As soon as I was able to read, I dug into as many books as I could.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

I absolutely love The Hunchback of Notre Dame. I love the story and its insane amount of symbolism that really makes you think as you read through it.

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

It was my second best, right behind Science.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

I would most likely thank them for the gift and then give it to one of my friends who might have a different taste in literature than I do, to see what they think of it.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

I personally really enjoyed the Ranger’s Apprentice Series by John Flanagan when I was in middle school, and I think that they are still a really good read.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I’m not sure yet, we’ll just have to wait and see…

18. What is your favorite word?

Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia. Also known as the fear of long words.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

All of the above.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Fairies, just because I’m not a fan of many vampires in any of the books I’ve read (save for Simon in the Mortal Instruments Series).

21. Shape-shifters or Angels? Why?

I’m assuming this is taking the context of Will and Tessa from The Infernal Devices, and I love William Herondale with every fiber of my being, so Angels for sure.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Werewolves. Spirits have always creeped me out and are very rarely fine, upstanding citizens in books. Usually they cause characters to make really stupid decisions that stress me out so I can’t say spirits.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Is neither an option?

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Forbidden love, because either way my OTP never goes canon.

25. Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Action for sure. Nothing beats fawning over your OTP while they decimate entire armies together!

One thought on “The Ultimate Book Tag

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑